NLA Statewide Testing Information

Testing is used in schools to measure student achievement. State tests are given to NLA students once a year in the spring, based on their grade level and subject area (see the schedule below). 

Classroom tests are given by individual teachers on a more regular basis and may include quizzes, mid-terms, chapter tests, and final exams, among others. Both types of tests give educators an idea of how well their students are learning the concepts presented to them in the classroom.  

Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs)

Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS)

  • Reading: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 10)
  • Mathematics: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 11)
  • Science: MCA or MTAS (grades 5, 8, and once in high school)

2020-21 State Testing Calendar

  • March 8: Reading, Mathematics, and Science MCA and MTAS begins
  • May 7: Reading and Mathematics MCA and Reading, Mathematics, and Science MTAS ends
  • May 14: Science MCA ends

More information from the MN Dept. of Education on Statewide Testing HERE